1620 w 18th Street Chicago, IL 60608
VA banner
schedule a free consultation: 312-666-9982
Driving an Uninsured Vehicle
Illinois is a mandatory insurance state, meaning that every vehicle in Illinois must be covered by, at the least, liability insurance. Many people mistakenly believe that if they have insurance on one of their cars, they will be covered if they drive another car. This means that if you drive a friend's car, even just to do them a favor, the vehicle must be covered by an insurance policy.

You can also be charged with driving an uninsured vehicle if you simply don't have proof of insurance, including if you cannot find your insurance card or do not have it with you while driving.

Penalties
Driving without insurance is a petty offense, punishable by fine between $500 and $1,000. In addition to the fine, if you are convicted, your driver's license will be suspended for 3 months and you will have to pay a $100 reinstatement fee to the Secretary of State at the end of the suspension period. The third time you get a convicted of driving an uninsured vehicle, you will have to get what is known as SR-22- proof of financial responsibility. This is a certificate filed by your insurance carrier directly to the Secretary of State. You will be required to have SR-22 for 3 years. If you fail to maintain SR-22 for the whole 3 years (like if you are dropped for not paying), your insurance company will report this to the Secretary of State and your license will be suspended.

If you are driving an uninsured vehicle and you cause an accident that results in someone getting hurt, you can be charged with a class A misdemeanor, punishable by up to one year in jail.

Driving an uninsured vehicle often causes big problems because of the different consequences of a conviction. An experinced attorney can help you avoid a conviction and help you comply with the law.